Recording Fees

See recording fee statute at Michigan.gov

General Recording Fees
$30.00 regardless of number of pages, for recording a deed, mortgage, certified court copy, or other instrument*.  

Warranty Deeds & Land Contracts

A tax certification must be obtained prior to recording any of the following (*additional $5 fee) MCLA 211.135:
  • Warranty deed
  • Any deed which contains a covenant of warranty
  • Land contract
  • Assignment of land contract with warranty clause

Transfer Tax


Any deed or easement that has a consideration (sale price) will have state and county transfer tax due at the time of recording based on the total consideration unless there are exemptions stated.  State and County transfer tax exemption information can be found here:  MCL 207.526 and MCL 207.505.
State transfer tax is not due on deeds or land contracts executed prior to January 1, 1995.  A deed in fulfillment of a land contract must reference the liber & page or document number and date of the land contract.
 

Transfer Tax Rates


  • The county transfer tax rate is $1.10 for each $1,000 or fraction thereof.
  • The state transfer tax rate is $7.50 for each $1,000 or fraction thereof.

Examples


  • If consideration is $110,100, round up to next 500 and multiply $110,500 by 0.0086 (State .0075, County .0011). Total Transfer Tax would be $950.30 (State 828.75, County 121.55).
  • If consideration is $110,501, round up to next 500 and multiply $111,000 by 0.0086 (State .0075, County .0011). Total Transfer Tax would be $954.60 (State 832.50, County 122.10).

Fees


  • Tax certification is $5 for up to 25 parcel (tax) ID numbers
  • $0.20 per additional parcel (tax) ID number over 25

Assignment & Discharge Fees


For any document which assigns or discharges more than 1 instrument, an additional $3 will be added to the recording fee for each additional instrument (liber & page or document number) assigned or discharged.

$4 of the recording fee is deposited to the Michigan State Survey and Remonumentation (MSSR) fund. The MSSR fee is not assessed on fixture filings, state liens, federal liens, state deeds, or tax reversion documents as per MCLA 600.2567a(4).


Copies

The Register of Deeds Office must receive payment first before mailing or faxing copies.
Type of Copy
Price
Copies
$1 Per Page
Certified Copy
 Additional $5
Emailed or Faxed Copies
$2 Per Page